top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKK Kitty

12 Days in Snow Chapter 1

Updated: Feb 1, 2018

Dec. 13, 2016

I’m Lily Gale, I’m going on a journey, an adventure. Most people call it a trip, but I know that this trip to Kansas City, Missouri will be special. I grew up there and I was going to see my parents for Christmas. I live in Sydney, Australia right now. I ended up there when I sign up to Help Koalas and Other Endanger Animals. Like who wouldn’t want to help Koalas. I liked the place so much that I moved there. I’m a guide at the Feather dale Wildlife Park, you might see me there.

“All passengers for the trip to Kansas City, Missouri board at flight # 9.”The intercom echoed through the airport. I saw a huge line starting to form in front of a cart and line would soon block where I board for my flight. I raced toward my flight before the line got any bigger. I tried to squeeze through, but everybody turned their head and did not let me pass. I was curious about what was so popular, so I asked,

“What’s going on?” I asked a bystander in the line,

“There selling yummy food for low prices!”

“I need to get on my flight, not stand in line for food.”

“You’re out of luck, someone said that there’s almost everybody in the airport here.”

“Everybody! You got to be kidding me!” I shouted with anger. As I through that was the worst thing that could happen to me today, it wasn’t.

“All passengers for the trip to Kansas City, Missouri board now at flight # 9.” The intercom said again.

“I need a distraction.” I muttered to myself. I knew that the line was too long to go around and no one would budge from there spot. Then I had an idea, I could make fake cart of stuff and book it when the crowd moves. There’s one problem, I don’t know if people like random stuff that I find to “sell”. I got some hair pines, some thread of my old blue coat, and other random stuff I found in my pockets. Then I placed stuff on a nearby bench and started to call out,

“If you need random stuff come, we got the stuff.” I waited to see if anybody would even look at what I had, then heads started to turn. A small gap opened when people started to walk out the line. I raced over to the nearest person to my “shop” and said quickly, “I’m retired now, it’s yours, do well. Bye!” the man looked at me strangely when I raced right through the line and on to my flight.

What a close call, if I took any longer I would miss my flight. I sat down, and started to get comfortable, I have an 18 hour trip ahead of me. I slowly dozed off as the plane took off.

I woke, “Thump! Thump!” a kid kicking the back of my seat. I turned my head to look strait at the kid. “Can you please stop kicking my chair, I’m trying to sleep.” I said nicely. She glared at me, she looked like she was going through the emo faze. She popped her gum and then put on headphones, “Hey! Did you hear me?” I said starting to get irritated. “What!” she said and popped her gum she glared at me more, “Can you stop kicking my chair, please.”

“Uh, no.” she sassed back. I gritted my teeth, but I just brushed it off. I just tuned back forward and ignored the thumping.

I sat for an hour feeling the emo girl kick my chair. She finally stopped when they brought some food around. The view was beautiful of the Indian Ocean. It was so long ago the last time I flew in a plane. I forgot how cool it feels. I fell back to sleep only to find myself woken up by some turbulence. I slept for 7 hours so I felt rested. “Passengers brace yourself we have some wind.” The pilot said through the intercom. I started to breath hard, “In, out. In, out.” I repeated. “We have lost all control! We’re crashing in Antarctica! Everybody brace for a hash landing!” The pilot yelled though the intercom. Now everybody was panicking. The plane shook and rumbled. Closed my eyes, my life flashed before me. Then we hit the ground.

I opened my eyes to see bags and other debris lying on floor of the plane. I struggled to get myself to my feet. I had a big gash on my leg, I got it from the metal that was bent inward. I limped over to other passengers to help them. I could feel the Antarctica wind blowing into the plane. We need to get warm if any of us don’t want be human Popsicle. I got all the clothing and other things that can make us warm. “Everybody okay?” I said after I got everybody patched up and myself. “I’m just dandy, if you say being in a plane crash is dandy.” A cowboy said sarcastically, “We won’t even survive a day, and if we are lucky, two days.” The emo girl said and popped her gum, “Everything looks hopeless, but let’s have faith.” As I tried to cheer up the passengers, but knew this will be rough trying to escape Antarctica. It didn't help the passengers, they still panicked, “Wait, where’s the pilots?” a lady said, “The pilots!” I rushed over to the cockpit, “the door is jammed!” I picked up some jagged debris and poked at the door, “I’m coming!” I yelled. I finally poked open the cockpit door, “Are you okay?” I said reaching out my hand. The copilot crawled out, “Thank you.”

“Where’s the pilot?”

“He is still in there…. He got knocked out when we hit.

“I have to save him.”

“No, it’s too risky….. If you try the roof will fall on you.” The copilot said out of breath.

“I’m going in. Bandage that gash on his arm, then get everything important out of the plane and get far away. I’ll be right back.” I said to a woman standing by the copilot. She nodded and started to direct the passengers out with their bags. I took a deep breath, then I went on all fours and crawled in.

I could feel my gash on my leg pull me down, but I kept going. It was quiet dark, there was so often a flicker of light coming from the broken lights. I felt around to find the pilot, but I only poked myself on glass shards, “Help” a faint, helpless voice came from the right side of the cockpit, “I’m coming!” I crawled over to the side cockpit. He was stuck under a part of the roof of the cockpit,

“Here, take my hand.” I said reaching out my hand.

“No, it will collapse.”

“I’ll hold it up and you can escape.”

“Um, are you sure?”

"Trust me."

"Okay..."

“On three, one, two, and three!” I said and pulled the debris up with all my strength. He rolled out and crawled to safety, but then the plane shook. It was going to collapse. I put down the debris that was on top of the pilot and crawled out as fast as I could. Everybody was outside waiting for our return. I limped out just in time. I saw the other passengers and the pilots, of in the distance huddle like penguins and they had little blankets or clothes wrapped around them. The plane blew a few seconds after I got out, but I was far enough out that it only blasted me down. I saw the plane burst to flames. I got back up and made it over to the little huddle, “Well, that was extreme!” A lady said.

After the fire, “Okay, let’s make an igloo to keep warm. So does anybody know how to?” I ask.

“Like, no one knows how to make an igloo. Only those puff balls that are crazy enough to live here, know how.” The emo girl said and popped her gum.

“Then, we will make it up. Let’s do this!” I said try to encourage the crowd of passengers.

It ended up to be a big circle clump of snow with hallow inside. “What is this, you try to make a snowman! We can’t live in that thing!” the crowd yelled, “It’s not much, but it will keep us warm.” I said, “Uh, No! I’ll make my own shelter. Anybody want to join my rebelling!” the emo girl said,

“Wait before you go do that, let’s get to know each other.”

“Why would we do that?” she ask.

"So it will be easier to work together."

"Ugh... Fine..."

We all gather around in my igloo, “How about I go first. I’m Lily Gale and I’m from Kansas City. Now you can go” I said in a cheery voice and I pointed over to emo girl, “I’m Dark Soul and I’m from Pennsylvania.” “Dark Soul? Tell us your real name.”

“That is my real name. I changed it when I became an orphan.”

“Oh, sorry about being noisy, but what happen to you parents?”

“Nothing, I just joined an orphan club.”

“Why did you join an orphan club, if you’re not even an orphan?”

“Uh duh, all cool people are orphans. Do you want me to list them off? Batman, Superman...”

“I’m fine, but what was your name that your parents gave you?”

“I'm not telling!” She said, turning her head away.

“Okay, thank you Dark Soul, now let’s go on to you, pilot” I looked over to the pilot, he was lying down with a blanket. He kept muttering, “my plane.” And, “they are going to kill me for this.” Then he looked up, “I go, oh, um, okay. I’m Roger William, I’m from Eugene.”

“Nice to meet you Roger.”

“Nice to meet you to.” Roger said back, but his voice quivered in fear. It looked like something was up with him. As I didn't ask why he sounded so fearful because we have been in a plane crash. We went around till everybody knew each other. “Nice meet you all, but it is late so let’s get some sleep. We need to be rested if we want to survive.” I instructed. Everybody laid down, today was rough, and made your adrenaline go sky rocking. We are all tried, so in a few minutes all of our eyes where closed shut and we all where in deep slumber.

More coming soon...

30 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Arrangement Chapter One

Elizabeth Charleston and Mark Charleston contend in a far away room. They quarrel over Mark's idea to arrange a marriage for his daughter, Elizabeth. Even though she scares away every single person he

Evergreen Summer Camp: Preview

Chapter 1: Ketchup Lily’s golden brown eyes sparkled as she skipped happily across the street to her house from school. Her shoulder length light brown hair flowed through the air. “Mom I’m home!” Lil

bottom of page