top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKK Kitty

The Arrangement Chapter One

Elizabeth Charleston and Mark Charleston contend in a far away room. They quarrel over Mark's idea to arrange a marriage for his daughter, Elizabeth. Even though she scares away every single person he throws at her, by being a little wretch.

"Father, how many times do I have to say this?" Elizabeth asks one more time. Elizabeth stood tall with her hands becoming tighter fists at her side. She looks off at the roaring winds that beat against the window pane. "Sweetheart, you know I'm doing this out of love," Mark repeats himself sitting down in a leather loveseat. He looks up at Elizabeth. Her eyes a flaming green sea reminded him of his late wife. "Just stop, you never listen to my-" The door interrupts the fight with a high pitch squeak. A gasp echos through the commodious room. "Who's there?" Elizabeth asks as she quickly turns around. "Uh, Krissy, Miss Elizabeth," Her voice shakes in fear and her face turns into a plump cherry. She comes forward from the wooden door bringing shame with her. "Get Out! This is a private matter," Yells Mark, angry at the rude interruption. "Sorry for interrupting sir, " she says and goes for the door that she was spying from earlier. "Wait, Krissy. Stay, I would like your opinion," Elizabeth calls back Krissy. Elizabeth looks back at her father with a bratty smirk. "As you wish Miss Elizabeth, " she says, turning around with a smile. She is glad to get some more juicy gossip to share with the other maids. "Do you think I should give this marriage thing another try?" "Maybe one last time. This Mr. Ryan Tex sounds interesting. And if you don't like him, direct him over to the servant corners," Krissy says boldly, "please," she adds. "Out!" Mark shouts with passion. His face is full of disgust. "I'm sorry sir. I miss spoke." Krissy scuffles out the room with her head down in a subservient way.

Elizabeth crosses her arms, "Maybe you should invest in anger management classes." "That was upmost rude!" "It was a joke, Father." "A joke? Never mind that. So what is your decision?" Mark asks impatiently. "Fine, I'll meet him. But that doesn't mean I'll like him." "Oh! Thank you, Elizabeth. I promise this one will be a keeper," Mark jumps up in joy and goes off to tell the happy news to Mr. Tex.

Elizabeth sluggishly walks over to the leather seat and plops on it with a big sigh, "Why did I say yes?"

One boring week goes by. Elizabeth pushes the thought of another suitor to the back of her mind. When the maids lead her into a silent room that was so familiar to Elizabeth, the thought came to the front of her mind. The maids close the door behind her, leaving Elizabeth in the small library. A man in a blue jean suit sits in the corner gazing off at the full bookshelves.

"Uh, Hi," She says to the man. Elizabeth swiftly glances over him. New suit and tie, an entitled, rich, jerk she thinks.

"Ryan Tex, lovely to meet you. Elizabeth right? We have an arranged marriage, or am I in the wrong place?" He asks getting up from the chair. "Oh, yeah. Ryan," Elizabeth says as if she cares. There is a long pause until she blurts out, "Let's just get it over with." "What?" Ryan asks with a little shock. "You know we won't work out so lets not even try." "Who knows until we do try. We might be a perfect match." "Ugh, I'm trying to make this easy-" "A date?" "No, aren't you listening to me?" "Tomorrow, does that work for you?" "What?" "Okay, tomorrow, courtyard, at twelve o'clock," Ryan says. He smirks as he quickly disappears out of the room before Elizabeth could reject him. "I'm not going to come if you were wondering!" Elizabeth yells to herself.

Elizabeth is processing what just happened as she makes her way down the narrow hall. Elizabeth turns the corner to see Krissy acting casual. "Oh, funny seeing you here, " Krissy laughs in a painful way. "I live here Krissy, " Elizabeth snaps. "Oh, yeah," Silence permeates through the barren halls. "Do you want something?" "Uh, sorry for overstepping, but how did it go?" Krissy asks hinting for all the details. "He asked me to go on a date in the courtyard tomorrow." "You're going, right?" "No!" "Come on, give him a chance. Or I might steal him away from ya." Elizabeth looks at Krissy.  "He is hot..." Elizabeth pauses, "What am I saying!" "Good! Now, what are you wearing?" "I'm not wearing anything!" Elizabeth blurts out, "Uh! I mean, I'm not going,"  she corrects herself quickly. "That's what they all say, now hurry along and pick out an outfit. Or not," Krissy giggles and scurries off before she got a scolding from Elizabeth. "I say, the people who work here!" Elizabeth says under her breath. She makes her way down the halls trying to dodge any more accounters with the nosey maids.

The sun rises to a new day. The sun glides across the sky until the clock is a tick away from twelve. Elizabeth gazes out the window of her room, not daring to go out on the balcony. She watches Ryan lay down a blanket and start to place the dishes out from a wooden basket. "Such a pity he made all that food for two. But only one will eat it," Elizabeth says to herself with a little laugh. She turns away from the window and grabs the book thrown upon the side table. "I guess I'll read in here," and she lays back, making herself comfy in the leather loveseat.

Down in the servant corners, two more women look out a window. "Oh, poor Mr. Tex," Kissy says to another maid, Malissa. "I can't believe that Miss Elizabeth would actually not take up this guy. He's just so... handsome," Malissa says gazing romanticly at the waiting man. "Off limits, I called dibs." "No fair, I thought he would be an old man like all the others," Malissa says crossing her arms. She pouts for some time as Krissy folds laundry. "You look like a maid, and you always will now stop daydreaming," Malissa says. "You're just jealous, and I think I'll go out there."

Krissy strolls out to the courtyard casually. She came to Ryan starting to put back the dishes into the wooden box. Ryan tries to hide his disappointment when Krissy approaches. "What might be the problem sir?" Krissy asks like she knew nothing. "Oh, just a little too hopeful," Ryan replies getting up to greet Krissy, "Ryan Tex." "Krissy Bell. Very nice to meet you," She says with a blushing smile.

Back in the quiet room where Elizabeth read. She got caught off guard by voices chatting down below. She sneaks over to the window spying on Krissy chatting with Ryan. Elizabeth's mouth drops open. Krissy's giggle ignites a fire in Elizabeth's eyes.

"That little chit!" Elizabeth shouts. Elizabeth pulls up her long skirt and hastily went down the windy stairs. The stomp of her heels could be heard from a mile away. Malissa watches Elizabeth trudge out to the clean-cut field. Malissa lets out a cackle and went back to her chores.

Elizabeth's face, red, hot, and ready to scream at Krissy. Elizabeth approaches when Ryan's face light up. "Elizabeth, I knew you would come!" He cheers. "Uh," Elizabeth stops in her tracks. "I'll leave you two alone," Krissy says walking back to the manor. As Krissy passes Elizabeth, Krissy whispers to her, "I knew you would come."

Before Elizabeth could react in any way, Ryan took her by the hand, "Sit, please?" Ryan ask. Ryan's hand pushes up Elizabeth's sleeve to expose her scarred wrist. Elizabeth covers her wrist, but Ryan notices it with the question, "Your wrist?" "I'm fine, " Elizabeth says pulling away. "Wait, Elizabeth. I'm sorry for asking. May you please just sit and have this picnic with me." Ryan pleads as he grabs her upper arm. "Very well..."

Elizabeth, very reluctant, took a deep breath and sits down. "Now, would you like some tea?" Ryan's asks, his eyes are full of joy and hope. "Sure, thanks."

While Ryan pours the glass of tea, Krissy and Malissa look out from the manor. "You tricky imp," Malissa says to Krissy with a grin. "Oldest trick in the book." "Did Mark pay you?" Malissa asks boldly. "What are you trying to say?" "He seemed a little desperate to get her to like Mr. Tex, or even in the same room in that matter." "Back to chores," Krissy says pulling Melissa from the conversation. Malissa follows Krissy, "He did pay you!" "That's not relevant." "Not relevant! How much did he fork up?" "Back it up, Malissa." "Okaaay," Malissa says rolling her eyes. As Malissa leaves the room she calls to Krissy, "I'll need more details soon!"  "Its never going to happen!" Krissy calls back.

"Did you always live here?" Ryan asks. "Yeah, this is my childhood home. My Father built it for my Mother when she was pregnant with me," Elizabeth looks down at her tea as memories fill her head. "My parents always had to travel. I never stayed in the same home for more than a year." "Well, at least you got to see places. My Father won't even let me out of these gates!" "So if you had to visit one place, what would it be?" "Paris. Since I was a kid I've been in love with it." There is a pause of silence. Ryan smiles and at this moment something dawns on Elizabeth.

"Ah, thanks for the picnic, uh. Bye," Elizabeth quickly got up and rushes off back to her room. "Wait, Elizabeth?" Ryan got up trying to see where she is going. Ryan looks down at the barely eaten food, "Is this good or a bad sign?" he contemplates as he starts to clean up the picnic once again.

Elizabeth rushes up the stairs, "I'm not supposed to like him!" she says in an angry tone. She swings open her door just to be shut again. Elizabeth falls back on her bed. She stares at the tall white ceiling. "I wasn't supposed to like him..."

4 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Evergreen Summer Camp: Preview

Chapter 1: Ketchup Lily’s golden brown eyes sparkled as she skipped happily across the street to her house from school. Her shoulder length light brown hair flowed through the air. “Mom I’m home!” Lil

12 Days in Snow Chapter 1

Dec. 13, 2016 I’m Lily Gale, I’m going on a journey, an adventure. Most people call it a trip, but I know that this trip to Kansas City, Missouri will be special. I grew up there and I was going to se

bottom of page