top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKK Kitty

Evergreen Summer Camp: Preview

Chapter 1: Ketchup

Lily’s golden brown eyes sparkled as she skipped happily across the street to her house from school. Her shoulder length light brown hair flowed through the air.

“Mom I’m home!” Lily called as she took off her old sneakers.

She ran up the stairs, exactly what her Mom advises not to do, and race down the hall right into her bedroom.

“Finally school is over.” Lily mumbled as she picked up a magazine off of her dresser and then walked through her mess room to her bed.

“Now, what should I do this summer? Swimming, cooking, maybe volleyball.” She thought as she laid back on her bed.

“Hey honey.” Lily’s mom said knocking on the opened door.

“Hi Mom.” Lily said sitting up on her bed.

“So Lily… the school just called.” Her Mom said picking up some clean clothes off the floor and putting them on Lily’s dresser.

“Was it important?”

“Well, Ms. Wells said you still needed to learn a couple things.”

“Okay, I’ll just learn them next time.”

“Well in the best interest of your education, I’m sending you to a summer camp.”

“A SUMMER CAMP!” Lily yelled surprised and with a little of disappointment.

The very next morning Lily was packed and ready.

“Do I have to go? Ms. Wells hates me, she just said I needed extra practice because she wants to ruin my summer!” Lily told her Mom as she ate some cereal on the counter.

“Calm down Lily, I too think you need extra practice, your grade was an F in her class.” Lily’s Mom said on the other side of the counter as she sipped on tea.

“Sasha and I had so many plans this summer. I’ll be all alone at this camp.” Lily pouted.

“You’ll make friends in no time. You’re the friendliest girl in the world, you’ll be fine.”

“Hmph…” Lily mumbled and pouted a little more as she finished up her cereal.

Lily dragged her feet as she walked down the stairs to the door with all her bags.

“Have fun Lily, write letters, and be safe.” Lily’s Mom said as she gave her a kiss on the forehead at the end of the stairs.

“I will Mom. See you at the end of the summer.” Lily said giving her Mom a hug.

The bus started honking in front of the house, the bus driver had a schedule to keep.

“Bye honey.” Her mom said as she open the door for Lily.

“Bye.” Lily said walking out the door.

Lily walked onto the bus and sat down at the very first seat on the left of the bus. She waved through the window to her Mom as the bus drove away.

Lily sat silent. Staring at the wall in front of her.

“Why so glum?” Asked a girl behind Lily’s seat as she poked her head above the seat to see Lily.

Lily stayed quiet.

“Summer school is the worse, even though I’m not here for school.” She continued.

“What?” Lily replied.

“Call me Ketchup. It’s a nickname.” Ketchup said walking over to Lily’s seat and sitting next to her. Ketchup green-blue eyes glisten. Her pale skin looked like she never seen the light of day and her dark red ponytail bounced as the bus went over the rocky road.

“Ketchup, how did you get that nickname?” Lily questioned looking at Ketchup.

“Better not to ask.” Chimed in a boy walking down the aisle and standing next to Ketchup, “I’m Butch. Come on Ketchup, stop bugging her.”

“Butch! You don’t have to protect me from everything!” Ketchup yelled angrily.

“Kids sit in your seats, now.” The bus driver commanded.

Butch walked back to his seat and Ketchup stayed.

“Don’t mind him, he’s my bossy old brother.” Ketchup said crossing her arms.

“Well at least you have a sibling.” Lily said trying to cheer up Ketchup.

“Oh you don’t want one.”

For the rest of the trip the two girls talked and talked. A new friendship was blossoming. Lily was starting to like summer school. Well, until the next chapter.


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Arrangement Chapter One

Elizabeth Charleston and Mark Charleston contend in a far away room. They quarrel over Mark's idea to arrange a marriage for his daughter, Elizabeth. Even though she scares away every single person he

12 Days in Snow Chapter 1

Dec. 13, 2016 I’m Lily Gale, I’m going on a journey, an adventure. Most people call it a trip, but I know that this trip to Kansas City, Missouri will be special. I grew up there and I was going to se

bottom of page